Ending the HIV Epidemic

Ending the HIV Epidemic

Ending the HIV Epidemic

The Ending the HIV Epidemic (EHE): A Plan for America is an initiative launched by the federal government as a collaborative effort to address the HIV epidemic in the United States. Announced in February 2019, the goal of this initiative is to direct support to the  cities, counties, states, and rural regions most impacted by HIV within the United States (U.S.) and U.S. territories. The EHE initiative aims to reduce new HIV infections by 75% in five years and by 90% in 10 years. This goal will be achieved by focusing on innovative and comprehensive efforts around four areas or "pillars": diagnose, treat, prevent and respond.

The Four EHE Pillars

DIAGNOSE all people with HIV as early as possible.

TREAT people with HIV rapidly and effectively to reach sustained viral suppression.

PREVENT new HIV transmissions by using proven interventions, including pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) and syringe services programs (SSPs).

RESPOND quickly to potential HIV outbreaks to get needed prevention and treatment services to people who need them.

Source: HHS, 2020

NASTAD's Role as a National Partner

In 2019, NASTAD was awarded a five-year cooperative agreement through the CDC PS19-1906 Component A funding serving as the national partner to enhance state and local health departments’ capacity to end the epidemic through technical assistance and capacity building. NASTAD is providing support for the 57 jurisdictions, named as recipients of CDC PS19-1906 Component B, also known as "Phase 1 jurisdictions", that have been prioritized throughout this initiative.

NASTAD will assist jurisdictions in identifying existing and new stakeholders, as well as disseminating best practices, innovative approaches, and interventions that will advance EHE progress in all jurisdictions.

This funding also supports important policy efforts, including:

  • policy analysis and interpretation (e.g., tracking state and local activity on policies and laws relevant to HIV programs);
  • developing policy-related educational products to state health departments and national policy stakeholders;
  • analyzing and interpreting national and jurisdictional-level data in areas of HIV prevention and surveillance policies and programs; and
  • providing support and technical assistance to health departments on ways to effectively communicate with and educate policymakers about their HIV prevention, surveillance, and treatment programs.

NASTAD is proud to partner with NCSD, CSTE, and NACCHO to provide comprehensive technical assistance and support to Phase 1 jurisdictions.

NASTAD's Role as Systems Coordinator Provider (SCP)

NASTAD also serves as the Systems Coordination Provider (HRSA-20-089) for health department HIV care programs funded by the EHE initiative under HRSA-20-078. In this capacity, NASTAD aims to support Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) grantees in coordinating EHE activities across funding streams and assist these health departments in bringing to the table non-traditional stakeholders that can advance their EHE efforts.

NASTAD’s SCP project aims to:

  • Support RHWAP Part A and B programs coordinate EHE planning activities, align EHE funding sources, and increase collaboration across programs funded by the EHE initiative.
  • Assist health departments in engaging new health system stakeholders, such as primary care providers, health plans, and social service provider networks that have not been involved in EHE efforts.
  • Disseminate best practices and innovative approaches to advance RWHAP Part A and B programs’ capacity to meet their EHE goals.

NASTAD is partnering with JSI Research & Training Institute, Inc. (JSI), the Association of State Health Officials (ASTHO), the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), and Southern AIDS Coalition (SAC).

The SCP project will also coordinate closely with Cicatelli Associates, Inc. (CAI), the Technical Assistance Provider funded by HRSA for the EHE initiative. The TAP is responsible for providing technical assistance to health departments on the implementation of work plan activities, innovative approaches, and interventions. 

The 57 Phase 1 Jurisdictions


Arizona: Maricopa County

California: Alameda County, Los Angeles County, Orange County, Riverside County, Sacramento County, San Bernardino County, San Diego County, San Francisco County

Florida: Broward County, Duval County, Hillsborough County, Miami-Dade County, Orange County, Palm Beach County, Pinellas County

Georgia: Cobb County, DeKalb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County

Illinois: Cook County

Indiana: Marion County

Louisiana: East Baton Rouge Parish, Orleans Parish

Maryland: Baltimore City, Montgomery County, Prince George’s County

Massachusetts: Suffolk County

Michigan: Wayne County

Nevada: Clark County

New Jersey: Essex County, Hudson County

New York: Bronx County, Kings County, New York County, Queens County

North Carolina: Mecklenburg County

Ohio: Cuyahoga County, Franklin County, Hamilton County

Pennsylvania: Philadelphia County

Tennessee: Shelby County

Texas: Bexar County, Dallas County, Harris County, Tarrant County, Travis County

Washington: King County

Washington, DC


Puerto Rico: San Juan Municipio


Alabama     Arkansas     Kentucky     Mississippi     Missouri     Oklahoma     South Carolina